Completing the John K. Mullen of Denver of Memorial Library
The additional wings were not completed until 1958, thirty years after the initial opening of the library. This expansion was part of a larger building program on Catholic University’s campus. Starting in November of 1956, the plan included a new physics building (present day McGivney Hall) as well as the expansion of the library. This building program continued as new projects were announced by then rector Bishop Bryan J. McEntegart in 1957, including additions to Caldwell and Curley Halls and new buildings for Engineering and Nursing Education.
Over the years, the library has gone through several interior renovations. With an eye to functionality, the structure has adapted to include additional seating, controlled access, and better ventilation control. Despite these changes, the original exterior architecture remains largely unchanged and many of the unique interior features are still visible today.